Known as the “Castle on the Hill”, the Monastery, founded in 1867, is home to one of the nation’s largest communities of Benedictine women. The distinctive, recently-restored Romanesque dome, rises majestically over the town of Ferdinand, standing at 87 feet from the floor and 32 and a half feet in diameter. Throughout the church, 89 angels are present, 16 of which are depicted on the stained glass windows surrounding the dome. The church is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and has been designated an Official Project of Save America’s Treasures. The Monastery gift shop offers handmade crafts from the sisters and other unique spiritual merchandise along with treats from Monastery Baked Goods. The new Hospitality Center, also on the Monastery grounds, offers a peaceful and rejuvenating getaway.